Books like OBX : If you like “Outer Banks” Read These 5 Books

Outer Banks 
Books like OBX : If you like "Outer Banks" Read These Books

Outer Banks book recs : If you like “Outer Banks” Read These 5 Books

Well… I just finished “The Summer I Turned Pretty” but I’m still not done with summer yet. And I totally forgot about the new season of “Outer Banks” because I was only reading and working the whole summer. As I’m watching the new episodes I wanted to read some books with the same vibe. So I found some books that match the “Friend group x Island x mystery x summer” theme.

About “Outer Banks” + Book :

Tropes: summer, Island setting, coming-of-age, found family, drama, mystery, romance, suspense, secrets, action-adventure.

Outer Banks
Books like OBX : If you like "Outer Banks" Read These Books

The ultimate summer series? Say no more…Set in a coastal town along the Outer Banks of North Carolina, The show follows a group of friends (The Pogues: John B,Kiara, Pope, and JJ ) who decide to find out what happened to he group’s leader John B’s Father who went missing when he was little.

As they begin their journey they discover there’s more to his disappearance as they find legendary treasure tied to it.

And they resume their journey of solving and discovering long buried secrets and mysteries and piecing things together. Outer banks has 3 seasons which combine elements of coming-of-age drama, romance, suspense, action-adventure.

1.Five Survive by Holly Jackson

Outer Banks
Books like OBX : If you like "Outer Banks" Read These Books

Tropes: Spring Break, Road trip, friend group, secrets, drama, suspense, thriller

Eight hours…Six friends…One sniper . . .but will they all survive?

Five Survive follows a group of teenagers Red and her friends, who head on a road trip journey in an RV to the beach for Spring Break. But they get lost on the way when RV breaks down in the middle of nowhere. With no mobile connection and people around for help they realize their tire was not punctured but shot one by one and there is a sniper in the dark who’s keeping a close watch. But what does he actually want? Maybe someone from the group is hiding something… Trapped in the RV, The full novel takes place in the span of 8 hours with the group discovering buried secrets and playing along to survive. 

2. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Outer Banks
Books like OBX : If you like "Outer Banks" Read These Books

Tropes: summer setting, private island, secrets, plot twist, mystery, memories

We Were Liars focuses on / is about a girl named Cadence who visits her grandma’s beach on a private island every summer along with her cousins Johnny and Mirren and their friend Gat. Sounds a bit similar to “The Summer I Turned Pretty”, Huh? Well… it’s a lot different and darker as one summer she gets into an accident and loses her ability to remember anything and nobody is telling her what actually happened. Years later when she returns to the place she gets glimpses of the lost memories and starts piecing things together. As she explores we get on a journey with her finding the truth and discovering past secrets with plot twists that will definitely blow our mind.

3. The Cousins by Karen M. McManus

Outer Banks
Books like OBX : If you like "Outer Banks" Read These Books

Tropes:  Family Drama, Secrets, suspense, plot twists, Island Settings 

Three cousins, Milly, Aubrey and Jonah surprisingly get letters from their grandmother who they never met because she disowned their parents mysteriously 24 years ago. In the letters she invites them to visit her estate on Gull Cove Island and they can’t decline the invitation because their parents forced them to go. As soon they arrive and start working at 

4. Heart Bones by Colleen Hoover

Outer Banks
Books like OBX : If you like "Outer Banks" Read These Books

Tropes: Beach setting, summer romance, found family, coming of age, secrets

5.Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Outer Banks
Books like OBX : If you like "Outer Banks" Read These Books

Tropes: Family, sacrifice, love, historical fiction, dual timeline (1950s/1980s)

6. Happy Place by Emily Henry

Outer Banks
Books like OBX : If you like "Outer Banks" Read These Books

Enough of the friend group, suspense, secrets, lies and all because the newest release of emily henry’s “Happy Place” is all about Harriet and Wyn. Well it’s not exactly suspense but it definitely kept me on edge of my seat to get to the real reason why they fell apart as the story switches to past and present timeline. The book also combines the elements of a found family, beach house and secrets from friends as the former couple had to fake date for a while to enjoy their last summer at the beach house.

Read my detailed review here… and checkout my goodreads for book reviews!! <33

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top